Hue Citadel was the capital of Nguyen Imperior during 140 years, from 1805 to 1945. Nowadays, it is in Thuan Thanh town, Hue city, in the community of the old capital which is recognized as a heritage of the world by UNESCO.
Hue Citadel was built according to the first King of Nguyen Imperior – Gia Long King’s order in 1805. It was completed in 1832, under Minh Mang King’s time. It is nearly square with 600m for each side. Its area is 37,5 ha. The wall, was made of big bricks which is 4m high, and 1m thick. There are 10 rocky bridges around the outside of the wall. The main gate which is located towards the South is called Noon’s gate. In front of it are a flagstaff, and Huong river.
The Citadel comprises Royal City, and Forbidden city. Royal City was the working place of King, and rulers. It was built from 1804 to 1833 with more than 100 different buildings.
Built in 1804, Forbidden city is the innermost city where the King and royal members lived. It is rectangle, 1300m in circumference, including 50 buildings. The architecture of both cities are closely related to each other based on the use of each buildings.
Hue Citadel is the political centre of Nguyen Imperior whose architecture is very unique. It is also the relic of palace which is kept most integrated in Vietnam.